Overview - Radiation Oncology

St John’s Medical College Hospital was dependant on Curie Cancer Centre for Radiotherapy services, between 1995 to 2010. The Management of St John’s took a conscious decision to start the Department of Radiation Oncology under the purview of St John’s. The Director along with Associate Director Finance and the Dean, Constituted an Oncology Task Force Group to study and submit a feasibility proposal for this project. The committee consisted of Rev. Fr. Glenn M (Associate Director Finance), Rev. Fr. Lawrence D’souza (Director), Associate Director College, Dr. Elizabeth Vallikad, Dr. Arun Shet, Dr. Suraj Manjunath & Dr. Mazhar H Shariff, was co-opted into the Oncology Task Force. The proposal, plan and equipment requirements for a new Radiation Oncology Department was presented and the Management accepted the proposal. The Management decided to demolish the existing Curie Cancer Centre and in its place decided to set up a four storey St John’s Oncology Centre, which is now fully functional.

The Radiation Oncology Department occupies the entire ground floor of the Oncology Centre. The foundation of Oncology block was held on 20th August 2011 and was precided by Arch Bishop of Bangalore Rev. Bernard Moras.

© 2022 St John's Medical College all rights reserved | Designed by INTEGRO